Perdue, Loeffler Ask Administration to Help Rural Hospitals During COVID-19 Outbreak

Send Letter Seeking Immediate Relief for Rural Health Care Providers

ATLANTA, GA – U.S. Senators David Perdue (R-Ga.) and Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.) are asking the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to prioritize funding to rural hospitals amid the COVID-19 outbreak.
Perdue and Loeffler joined 40 senators and 81 representatives in sending HHS Secretary Alex Azar a bipartisan letter requesting the administration use funding included in the recently passed Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act to help rural health care providers.
“Rural hospitals are the backbone of communities across our nation,” the senators wrote. “These providers are on the frontlines combating the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. Mr. Secretary, our rural providers need your immediate assistance. Congress has provided you with the funding and flexibility. Now it is up to the administration to respond with rapid action to sustain rural providers. Therefore, we request you make the financial relief of rural hospitals a priority.”
Last week, Congress passed and President Trump signed into law the CARES Act. Perdue and Loeffler voted for the legislation which includes new funding relief for hospitals. The CARES Act also includes bills Loeffler led to improve telemedicine and rural health care programs.
In addition to Perdue and Loeffler, the following members of the U.S. Senate signed onto the letter: Senators Jim Risch (R-ID), Mike Crapo (R-ID), John Barrasso (R-WY), Michael Bennett (D-CO), John Kennedy (R-LA), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), James Lankford (R-OK), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Steve Daines (R-MT), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Todd Young (R-IN), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Doug Jones (D-AL), Tina Smith (D-MN), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Bernard Sanders (I-VT), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Tom Udall (D-NM), Jon Tester (D-MT), Susan Collins (R-ME), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), John Hoeven (R-ND), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Joe Manchin III (D-WV), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Angus S. King, Jr. (I-ME), Jim Inhofe (R-OK) and Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV).
The full letter is available here.